Award Opportunities

The Graduate School office sponsors awards, fellowships, scholarships and assistantships for deserving students.

Many public and private organizations also provide fellowships and scholarships for graduate students. Please visit the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards for assistance in finding and applying to competitive awards.

Recent Graduate Student Award Winners

2018 Albert C. Yates Fellowship Program

Inductees for the 2018-2019 Academic Year
Fellows College Program Degree
Omari Abdul-Alim College-Conservatory of Music
Violin MM
Alicia Bedolla Medicine
Neuroscience/Medical Science Scholars Interdisciplinary PhD
Blake Bell Business Applied Economics MS
Evan Brooks Medicine
Molecular & Developmental Biology PhD
Leland Brown  Education, Criminal Justice, and Health Services  Sport Administration  MS 
Diamond Crowder Arts & Sciences
History PhD
Audrey Crowther Medicine
Immunology PhD
Brittany Duncan  Medicine  Molecular, Cellular & Biochemical Pharmacology  PhD 
Jenny Ham  Arts & Sciences  Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies  MA 
Austin Hattori Arts & Sciences
Classics MA
Kelly Hollins  Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning  Landscape Architecture  MLA 
Melvin-Eddy Ikwubuo Engineering and Applied Science Aerospace Engineering PhD
Riley Jessen Business Applied Economics MS
Yalie Kamara Arts & Sciences
English & Comparative Literature PhD
Marco Leon  Allied Health Sciences  Communication Sciences and Disorders  MA 
Lisa Low Arts & Sciences
English & Comparative Literature PhD
Clair Nguyen College-Conservatory of Music
Theory PhD
Mark Ornelas Arts & Sciences
Philosophy PhD
Alyssa Sterling  Pharmacy  Pharmaceutical Sciences/Biopharmaceutics  PhD 
Nury Stevens Arts & Sciences
Romance Languages & Literatures PhD
Anthony Stone Arts & Sciences
Sociology PhD
Yi Ting "Jenny" Sung Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences PhD
Kierra Toney Arts & Sciences
Sociology PhD
Natalie Villacorta Arts & Sciences
English & Comparative Literature PhD
Christine Wong Arts & Sciences
Classics PhD

2018 Provost Graduate Fellowship

  • Maralyn Doering, Department of Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Afsheen Farhadi, Department of English & Comparative Literature, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Meagan Scott, School Psychology Graduate Program, College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services

2018 Presidential Medal of Graduate Student Excellence

A round, gold-colored medal with the university's seal on a black-and-red ribbon.

The PMGSE is a prestigious honor awarded by the university president to exceptional graduate students who best exemplify scholarship, leadership, character, service and the ideals of the University of Cincinnati.

  • Batsheva Guy, Educational Studies, PhD
  • Ryan Makinson, Neuroscience, PhD

2018 Graduate School Dean's Fellowship

  • Christopher Motz, Department of Classics, College of Arts and Science
  • Harshad Puranik, Department of Management, Carl H. Lindner College of Business
  • Mohammadreza Radmanesh, Department of Mechanical & Materials Engineering, College of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Crystal Whetstone, Department of Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Alex Yarawsky, Molecular Genetics, Biochemistry, and Microbiology Graduate Program, College of Medicine

2018 Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Alex Jones, Computer Science & Engineering (CEAS), PhD student
  • Joe Deye, Communication (A&S), MA student

College Awardees

  • A&S: Abigail Richard, Mathematical Sciences, PhD
  • CAHS: Chelsea Benson Blankenship, Communication Sciences and Disorders, PhD
  • CCM: Michael Hayden, Music Theory, MM
  • CCM: Joseph Rivers, Music Education, MM
  • CECH: Laura Kelley, Educational Studies, PhD
  • DAAP: Jongwoong Kim, Regional Development Planning, PhD
  • LCOB: Harshad Puranik, Business Administration, PhD